Who We Are

Football Federation Australia (FFA) is the governing body of football in Australia and is a member of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the international governing body for football. Information regarding FIFA is available at http://www.fifa.com.

FIFA is made up of the FFA and 207 other national associations, and also recognises six confederations loosely grouped along continental lines. Each national association is also a member of a confederation. FFA has been a member of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) since joining the body on January 1 2006. For information regarding AFC please visit www.the-afc.com.

Football Federation Australia was established in 2004 and is a member-based organisation loosely based on Australia’s federated system of government. FFA’s membership is comprised of:

  • Capital Football
  • Football Federation Northern Territory
  • Football Federation South Australia
  • Football Federation Tasmania
  • Football Federation Victoria
  • Football New South Wales
  • Football Queensland
  • Football West
  • Northern New South Wales Football

Each of these governing bodies has a commitment to comply with the FFA constitution, applicable statutes, by-laws and regulations, and are responsible for the game within their respective geographic region.

In 2005, FFA established Australia's first ever fully professional national football league - the Hyundai A-League. Today, the Hyundai A-League consists of the following football clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Wellington Phoenix
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

Just three years later in 2008 the FFA introduced the Westfield W-League. Today there are 8 teams who are affiliated with Hyundai A-League clubs and one standalone club from Canberra. Today, the Westfield W-League includes the following clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Canberra United 

FFA's long-term vision is for Football to be the largest and most popular sport in Australia.

In order to achieve this vision, FFA's business operations are structured across three core strategic pillars:

1. National Teams & Elite Player Development
2. A-League & Competitions
3. Football Community

FFA Board

Chairman: Steven Lowy AM
Cheryl Bart AO
Kelly Bayer Rosmarin
Moya Dodd
Joseph Healy
Simon Hepworth
Daniel Moulis
Crispin Murray
Chris Nikou

Senior Management Team

Chief Executive Officer: David Gallop AM
Head of Commercial, Marketing & Digital: Luke Bould
Head of National Performance: Luke Casserly
Head of Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League: Greg O'Rourke
Head of Strategy, International & Government Relations: Mark Falvo
Head of Community, Women's Football and Football Development: Emma Highwood
Head of Corporate Affairs and Communications: John Kent
Head of Legal, Business Affairs & Integrity: Jo Setright