Osieck announces Qantas Socceroos squad

Wednesday, 29 August 2012 4:28 PM

Osieck announces Qantas Socceroos squad

Qantas Socceroos head coach Holger Osieck has named a 22-player squad that will face Lebanon in an international friendly match and Jordan in a 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier.

Returning to the Qantas Socceroos squad after missing the recent international friendly against Scotland are Tim Cahill, Matt McKay, Jade North, Nikita Rukavytsya, Adam Sarota and Matthew Spiranovic.

Jason Davidson and Ryan McGowan have again been included in the Qantas Socceroos squad after making their senior international debuts against Scotland at Easter Road Stadium earlier this month.

Austrian-based midfielder James Holland gets his first call-up to the Qantas Socceroos squad since March of last year for the international friendly against Germany in Mönchengladbach.

Legendary Qantas Socceroos goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer is poised to become the first Australian male football player to play 100 A-International matches should he take the field against either Lebanon or Jordan.

Mark Milligan was unavailable for selection as he is required to serve a one-match suspension after being sent off for receiving two yellow cards in the Qantas Socceroos last 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier against Japan in Brisbane in June.

This will be the first official meeting between the Qantas Socceroos and the Lebanon and Jordan national teams at senior men’s international level.

The Qantas Socceroos are currently ranked 24th in the FIFA World Rankings whilst Lebanon are currently 127th and Jordan 83rd (as of 8 August 2012).

The Qantas Socceroos are currently in third position of Group B with draws against Oman (0-0) and Japan (1-1) in their opening two matches of the final round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifiers, whilst Lebanon are in fifth place of Group A after losses to Qatar (0-1) and Korea Republic (0-3) and a draw against Uzbekistan.

Jordan are in fifth position of Group B on one (1) point following a draw with Iraq in their opening match of the group and a 6-0 loss to Japan on match day two.

Both matches will be broadcast Live & Exclusive on FOX SPORTS.

Qantas Socceroos Squad – Lebanon/Jordan – September 2012

Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa, Qatar)
Alex Brosque (Shimizu S-Pulse, Japan)
Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls, USA)
David Carney (FK Bundyodkor Tashkent, Uzbekistan)
Jason Davidson (SC Heracles Almelo, Netherlands)
Adam Federici (GK) (Reading FC, England)
James Holland, (FK Austria Wien, Australia)
Brett Holman (Aston Villa FC, England)
Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace FC, England)
Robbie Kruse, (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)
Mitchell Langerak (GK) (B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, Germany)
Ryan McGowan (Heart of Midlothian FC, Scotland)
Matthew McKay (Busan I’Park, Korea Republic)
Lucas Neill, (Al Wasl, UAE)
Jade North (Consadole Sapporo, Japan)
Sasa Ognenovski (Umm Salal SC, Qatar)
Nikita Rukavytsya (Hertha Berliner SC, Germany)
Adam Sarota (FC Utrecht, Netherlands)
Mark Schwarzer (GK) (Fulham FC, England)
Matthew Spiranovic (Al Arabi, Qatar)
Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory)
Luke Wilkshire (FK Dinamo Moscow, Russia)

Lebanon v Qantas Socceroos
Thursday 6 September 2012
Sports City Stadium, Beirut, Lebanon
Kick-off 8:30pm EEST (3:30am AEST)

2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier
Jordan v Qantas Socceroos

Tuesday 11 September 2012
King Abdullah International Stadium, Amman, Jordan
Kick-off 7:00pm EEST (2:00am AEST)

How far will Western Sydney go in the AFC Champions League?