FFA names squad for AFC U-22 Championships

Thursday, 19 December 2013 10:40 AM

FFA names squad for AFC U-22 Championships

Football Federation Australia has named a 23-man squad to take part in the AFC U-22 Championships in Oman, from 11-26 January 2014.

The squad consists of 18 players from the Hyundai A-League as well as five overseas-based players with coach Aurelio Vidmar naming the squad with a view to starting preparations for the 2016 Olympic Games cycle.

“This tournament is the ideal platform to start our preparations for the 2016 Olympic Games,” Vidmar said. “It is an U-22 tournament but we have selected players who will be eligible for the 2016 Olympics and start exposing them to international competition in the lead up to the qualifiers.

“We are excited about the squad we’ve put together with a good mix of boys making an impact in the Hyundai A-League and also playing overseas and it will be good to get them together in a string group at what will be a good competition.”

Australia has been drawn in Group C where they will meet Japan, Iran and Kuwait with the top two teams progressing to the quarter finals of the tournament.

Australia’s matches:
Sun 12 Jan Australia v Kuwait Royal Oman Police Stadium 5pm (Midnight AEDT)
Tue 14 Jan Iran v Australia Royal Oman Police Stadium 5pm (Midnight AEDT)
Thu 16 Jan Australia v Japan Royal Oman Police Stadium 5pm (Midnight AEDT)
Mon 20 Jan Possible quarter finals
Thu 23 Jan Possible semi finals
Sat 25 Jan 3rd v 4th playoff
Sun 26 Jan Tournament Final

Australian Squad for the AFC U-22 Championships in Oman, from 11-26 January 2014:
Aaron Lennox (Gk) QPR, England
Jason Geria Melbourne Victory, Australia
Curtis Good Newcastle United, England
Connor Chapman Newcastle Jets, Australia
Corey Brown Brisbane Roar, Australia
Joshua Brillante Newcastle Jets, Australia
Stefan Mauk Melbourne Heart, Australia
Ryan Edwards Perth Glory, Australia
Dylan Tombides West Ham United, England
Adam Taggart Newcastle Jets, Australia
Connor Pain Melbourne Victory, Australia
Jack Duncan (Gk) Perth Glory, Australia
Scott Galloway Melbourne Victory, Australia
Nicholas Ansell Melbourne Victory, Australia
David Vrankovic Melbourne Heart, Australia
Reece Caira Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Jake Barker-Daish Adelaide United, Australia
John Hall (Gk) Adelaide United, Australia
Hagi Gligor Sydney FC, Australia
Chris Ikonomidis SS Lazio, Italy
Andrew Hoole Newcastle Jets, Australia
Ryan Kitto Adelaide United, Australia
Peter Skapetis QPR, England

How far will Western Sydney go in the AFC Champions League?