Liverpool announce touring squad

Tuesday, 16 July 2013 5:54 PM

Liverpool announce touring squad

Liverpool FC have named a strong squad for their glamour game against Melbourne Victory on July 24, with captain Steven Gerrard and want-away striker Luis Suarez both included.

On the back of news Gerrard has re-signed with Liverpool for a further two seasons, the club captain will lead a 28-man contingent for the sold-out clash at the MCG. The 33-year-old had been in doubt after undergoing shoulder surgery late last season.

Suarez, meanwhile, has been heavily linked with a move away from Anfield following an unsavoury end to his 2012/13 campaign, when the Uruguayan received a 10-match competitive ban for biting Chelsea's Branislav Ivanovic.

The Uruguay international has agitated for a transfer to a club playing UEFA Champions League next season, with Real Madrid and Arsenal reportedly interested.

England striker Daniel Sturridge is the only major absentee after suffering an ankle injury on international duty against Ireland in May.

As well as Suarez, Uruguay's Sebastian Coates and Spain goalkeeper Pepe Reina will skip Liverpool's game in Indonesia and join the squad in Australia, having been given an extended break following their participation in the Confederations Cup.

New signings Luis Alberto, Iago Aspas, Kolo Toure and Simon Mignolet have all been picked in the touring squad.

The Reds will depart from John Lennon Airport this this evening for their 12-day trip, where they will also play in Indonesia and Thailand either side of their clash with Melbourne Victory.

Liverpool FC will play Melbourne Victory at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday 24 July, with the match to be broadcast live and exclusive on the Seven Network nationally.

Liverpool squad:
GK: Brad Jones, Simon Mignolet, Pepe Reina.
DF: Glen Johnson, Jose Enrique, Kolo Toure, Daniel Agger, Martin Kelly, Martin Skrtel, Jon Flanagan, Andre Wisdom, Jack Robinson, Sebastian Coates
MF: Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Stewart Downing, Jay Spearing, Lucas Leiva, Joe Allen, , Raheem Sterling, Jordon Ibe
FW: Iago Aspas, Philippe Coutinho, Luis Alberto, Oussama Assaidi, Daniel Pacheco, Fabio Borini, Luis Suarez

How far will Western Sydney go in the AFC Champions League?