Your Foxtel A-League All Stars have arrived

Friday, 12 July 2013 1:15 PM

Your Foxtel A-League All Stars have arrived

The inaugural Foxtel A-League All Stars squad have today gathered in Sydney’s west to commence preparations for their inaugural match against Manchester United on Saturday 20 July (kick-off 7.30pm AEST).

Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar), Michael Theo (Brisbane Roar), Liam Miller (Brisbane Roar), Connor Chapman (Newcastle Jets), Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC) and Pedj Bojic (Sydney FC) were the final six (6) players to be announced today to complete the 20-player Foxtel A-League All Stars squad with players from all 10 Hyundai A-League clubs represented.

The squad met for the first time today in Parramatta to commence a week long training camp under Foxtel A-League All Stars Head Coach Ange Postecoglou, assistant coach Paul Okon and goalkeeper coach Ron Corry.

With the entire squad having been put on fitness programs following their selection from the combined fan, PFA Team of the Year, All Stars Expert Panel and coaching vote, the team have now gathered in Sydney to prepare to play the Red Devils at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium.

Football Federation Australia CEO David Gallop believes this squad will not only launch the All Stars concept but the Hyundai A-League to a whole new audience.

“This match will showcase the Hyundai A-League to the world and prove once again how far football has come into the mainstream,” said Gallop.

“Fan engagement is at the heart of everything we do in the Hyundai A-League and this team is unique because it was brought to life by 30,000 fans who voted online to help select the Foxtel A-League All Stars inaugural team, a team I am happy to announce in full today.”

“20 players have been selected, representing all 10 Hyundai A-League clubs, who will represent the Foxtel A-League All Stars against the biggest football club in the world today.

“This event will give our football community the chance to celebrate what has been an incredible Hyundai A-League Season Eight and prepare for what is set to be an even bigger Season Nine.”

Foxtel A-League All Stars squad

Michael Beauchamp (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar)
Pedj Bojic (Sydney FC)
Nigel Boogaard (Adelaide United)
Mark Bridge (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar)
Billy Celeski (Melbourne Victory)
Connor Chapman (Newcastle Jets)
Ante Covic (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Brett Emerton (Sydney FC)
Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC)
Youssouf Hersi (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Paul Ifill (Wellington Phoenix)
Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners)
Liam Miller (Brisbane Roar)
Joshua Risdon (Perth Glory)
Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Joshua Rose (Central Coast Mariners)
Michael Theo (Brisbane Roar)
David Williams (Melbourne Heart)

Fans can get up close and personal with the Foxtel A-League All Stars at an open training session on Sunday 14 July at Sydney Olympic Park’s Warm Up Arena. Gates open at 9:30am with training starting at 10:00am.

Click here to register.

The Foxtel A-League All Stars will debut against Manchester United at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, on 20 July with the match to be broadcast live and exclusive on the Seven Network nationally.

How far will Western Sydney go in the AFC Champions League?