About us

Perth Glory Football Club History

Perth Glory Football Club re-established itself as one of the Hyundai A-League’s power clubs with a recording breaking 2012 season.

Celebrating the club’s 15 year anniversary, Perth Glory won three sudden death Finals games before a heart-breaking 2-1 Grand Final loss to Brisbane Roar. In front of more than 50,000 fans at a packed Suncorp Stadium, Perth Glory led 1-nil until the 84th minute before a dramatic and controversial finish.

Perth Glory may have been denied the championship, but their rise as a Football giant in Australia was confirmed on the back of two finals appearances in the past three seasons.

The return to the ‘Glory Days’ can directly be linked to the club’s Chairman, Mr Tony Sage.

Mr Sage is sole owner of Perth Glory after completing a buy-out of partner Mr Brett McKeon in February 2008. In a short space of time, Mr Sage has enthusiastically set about reinvigorating one of the country’s most successful sporting franchises and has bold plans for the future success of the club.

Since Perth Glory’s inception, the club has been synonymous with success on and off the pitch. A loyal and passionate fan base coupled with strong corporate support have been the hallmarks of the two-time championship winning club.

The Perth Glory story began on October 13, 1996 at Perth Oval (now nib Stadium). Despite a 4-1 loss to UTS Olympic, Perth Glory captured the hearts of Football lovers and their introduction into the NSL immediately brought a new professionalism.

The charismatic Bernd Stange took the reigns as coach in 1998 and the former East German national boss immediately made his mark. In a stunning season, Perth Glory played finals football for the first time, sold-out 25,000 capacity WACA ground and became the hottest ticket in town. The club fell one match short of reaching the Grand Final but the benchmark had been set and from that point on Perth Glory featured prominently in the finals each season.

Perth hosted the Grand Final in June 2000 and set a record domestic football crowd of 43,242 at Subiaco Oval. Despite going down on the day in a dramatic penalty shoot-out to Wollongong, the Perth Glory brand continued to make inroads into non-traditional football households throughout WA.

The club would play in another Grand Final at Subiaco Oval in the 2001/02 season and again Perth Glory fell just short, this time 1-nil to Sydney Olympic.

The wait for Championship success was finally over in 2002/03 when Perth was crowed the nation’s best in an emphatic 2-nil victory against their 2002 nemesis in front of another packed house at Subiaco Oval.

A dynasty followed and Perth Glory established themselves as Australia’s most powerful club with back-to-back championships, a golden goal from Nik Mrdja sealing the 1-nil win away to Parramatta Power in the 2004 Grand Final.

That game was to be the last in the National Soccer League but in just in eight seasons Perth featured in the finals six times, played in four grand finals, won two championships, and was crowned premiers (top of the table after regular season matches) three times.

A new era in Australian football began with the formation of the Hyundai A-League in August 2005. Despite still being in its infancy the new competition has captured a large portion of the Australian sporting marketplace as Australian’s embrace the world’s biggest game.

The popularity of football at a grass roots level around the country is unsurpassed and in Western Australia there are more than 30,000 registered junior participants.

Mr Sage and his advisory board have overseen a significant increase in the areas of sponsorship and corporate hospitality while the club continues to grow its loyal membership base.

The arrival of English Premier League legend Robbie Fowler in 2010 was another master stroke by the Chairman as the man famously known as ‘God’ was a box-office hit with record crowds watching Fowler in action.
Off the field Perth Glory is also committed to strong community programs that reach more than 20,000 children each year.

And with success on the field Perth Glory is one the leaders in the Hyundai A-League.

Advisory Board

Perth Glory Owner & Chairman: Tony Sage
Mr. Sage has in excess of 25 years experience in the fields of corporate advisory services, funds management and capital raising.

Based in Western Australia he was formerly a successful funds manager with Growth Equities Mutual for a period of 13 years. During the last 10 years he has been involved in the management and financing of several listed companies.

Mr. Sage was instrumental in the successful listing of Gabriel Resources Ltd which operates in the Golden Quadrilateral in Romania. Since listing Gabriel has accumulated a total reserve of over 13 Million ounces of Gold and 60 Million ounces of Silver.

He is currently a Director of the following entities, Cape Lambert Resources Ltd, Cauldron Energy Limited, FE Limited, International Petroleum Ltd, Kupang Resources Ltd, Global Strategic Metals NL and Matrix Metals Ltd.

The Chairman was also one of the original founders of Redwave Media Ltd, a company which operates one of the largest radio networks in Australia. He also owns a publishing company which produces Kurv magazine.

Mr Sage is married to Lucy and has three children: daughters Jessica and Emily and son Matthew.

Perth Glory Advisory Board
Chairman: Mr Tony Sage
Deputy Chairman: Mr Lui Giuliani (Director of Aspire Capital Partners)
Board Member: Benny Elias
Board Member: Ross Levin (Senior partner Rigby Cooke Lawyers)
Board Member: Declan Kelly
Board Member: John Boardman

Management & Administration
Chief Executive Officer: Jason Brewer
Football Operations: Ante Kovacevic
Community Development Manager: Callum Salmon
Administration Manager: Tracy Costanzo
Membership Sales and Events Manager: Joseph Marafioti
Operations Manager : Ghaz Ramli
Corporate Services Liaison : Billie Thompson
Merchandise Manager : Lucy Sage
Marketing Manager: Lien Nguyen