Monday, 28 October 2013 10:33 AM


Perth Glory started their Foxtel National Youth League campaign with a disappointing 1-0 loss to Melbourne Heart at Intiga Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Perth started the match as the better of the two teams with a couple of clear-cut chances in the opening 10 minutes and dominated the possession count.

Adrian Zahra set up both chances and looked particularly dangerous on the right wing against his former club.

Zahra also came the closest to scoring for Perth in the first half when he forced Stevanja to make a full-length save from a dead ball situation on the edge of the 18-yard box.

Senior Squad member Ndumba Makeche also had plenty of opportunities to break the deadlock but it was Heart's Ersin Kaya who opened the scoring in the 33rd minute when he finished off a well-worked piece of play down the right hand side that started with a clever back heel from Hernan Espindola.

Heart settled after their goal and controlled the rest of half as Glory went in to the half time break rightly puzzled as to why they were behind.

The second half was close again with very little between the teams and plenty of chances created for both sides.

A Glory equalizer always looked on the cards with the best chance of the match falling to Ndumba Makeche after 55 minutes, after the the striker managed to get in behind the Heart defense but Heart goalkeeper Marko Stevanja rushed out to make a sharp save and deny the Perth marksman.

It just wasn't meant to be Glory's afternoon as Kaya's goal proved to be the difference between the sides.

Foxtel National Youth League Round 1
Perth Glory 0
Melbourne Heart 1 (Ersin KAYA 33')

Perth Glory: 1. Luke RADONICH (GK), 2. Joshua TUCKER (13. Jack OLDHAM 57'), 3. David STOKOE (15.XScott ROBERTSON 57'), 4. Mark BARNETT, 5. Riley WOODCOCK, 6. Blamo QUA QUA, 7. Adrian ZAHRA, 8. Jacob COLLARD, 9. Ndumba MAKECHE (14. Harry O'BRIEN 57'), 10. Aleksandar JOVIC, 11. Joseph KNOWLES,

Melbourne Heart FC squad: 1. Marko STEVANJA (GK), 2. Ersin KAYA, 3. Philip PETRESKI, 4. Andrew MULLETT, 5. Ross ARCHIBALD, 6. Alexander DAO, 7. Hernan ESPINDOLA (15. Leo ATHANASIOU 58'), 10. Marcus SCHROEN, 11. Jonathan BOUNAS (8. Joseph KATEBIAN 50'), 12. Matthew MILLAR, 14. Tyles JAMES (13. Baki EFE 58').

YELLOW CARDS: 6. Alexander DAO, 6. Blamo QUA QUA,

Which of the new Perth Glory signings will have the greatest influence during the 2014/15 Hyundai A League season?