Tuesday, 31 December 2013 9:25 PM


Perth Glory has been unable to end 2013 on a high, losing 2-1 to the Central Coast Mariners in a controversial match which saw Captain Jacob Burns given his second yellow card in the 93rd minute after trying to re-enter the pitch while scores were still locked at 1-1.

After falling behind to a Trent Sainsbury goal in the 12th minute, Glory fought their way back into the match and equalized in the 84th minute through a penalty to Man of the Match, Steven McGarry,

With scores tied at 1-1, Jacob Burns picked up his first yellow card in the 88th minute for time wasting but needed treatment for a cut to the head after being accidently studded by Mile Sterjovski. He was then given his second yellow card for dissent in the 93rd minute while trying to re-enter the field after being given treatment on the sidelines.

Forced to play the final minutes of injury time with 10 men, Perth were unable to hold out the Mariners with Michael McGlinchey popping up in the 97th minute to volley home the winner and condemn the Glory to a cruel loss.

The win sees the Gosford-based club jump up to 4h spot on the Hyundai A-League ladder.

It was a disastrous start for the Glory who, after conceding the first two corners of the game, failed to clear the ball from the 18 yard box in the 12th minute, allowing the Mariners’ Zachary Anderson to square the ball to Trent Sainsbury who scored his first Hyundai A-League goal.

Central Coast was dominating the early possession count 72/28 percent but Steve McGarry was playing an outstanding game in his 100th Hyundai A-League match and nearly unlocked the Mariners defence on a couple of occasions.

A quickly taken free kick in the 15th minute sent Sidnei Sciola Moraes through on goal but he was unable to make great contact with the shot as it sailed harmlessly across Liam Reddy’s goal.

He was at it again minutes later when he released Chris Harold down the right hand wing. Harold’s first touch took him to the by line and he was able to cut it back across goal to Ndumba Makeche but the striker’s outstretched boot missed it by inches.

Half-time: Central Coast Mariners 1-0 Perth Glory

Glory came out of the blocks in the second half with a more positive start, keeping the ball a lot better while the Mariners were content to sit back as their defensive line got deeper and deeper.

Adrian Zahra and Ryan Edwards replaced Makeche and Danny De Silva in the 54th minute as the Glory continued to pile on the pressure, but it was Isaka Cernak’s introduction in the 73rd minute which had the biggest impact.

Cernak, making his first senior appearance for the Glory this year, chased down a long ball in the 77th minute and managed to cut it back for Harold. The striker rose well but his header went narrowly wide.

Central Coast was also being forced to make substitutions with Sainsbury and Anderson making way for Marcel Seip and Marcos Flores who had sustained injuries. Those substitutions were telling with Seip bringing down Harold in the penalty box minutes after coming on.

McGarry coolly stepped up to slam the penalty into the top right-hand corner of the net to setup a frantic final ten minutes, but it was not enough to give Perth the points as McGlinchey’s injury-time volley ensured the majority of the 12,919 fans left Bluetongue Stadium in a festive mood.

Hyundai A-League 2013-2014 Season – Week 12
Central Coast Mariners 2 – 1 Perth Glory FC (Half-time 1-0)
Bluetongue Stadium
Tuesday, 31 December 2013
Attendance: 12,919
Referee: Shaun Evans

Central Coast Mariners: 2. Daniel MCBREEN, 3. Joshua ROSE, 5. Zachary ANDERSON (10. Marcos FLORES 74’), 7. John HUTCHINSON (C), 8. Nick MONTGOMERY, 9. Mitchell DUKE (19. Matthew SIMON 86’), 12. Liam REDDY (Gk), 14. Michael MCGLINCHEY, 15. Storm ROUX, 16. Trent SAINSBURY (4. Marcel SEIP 64’), 21. Mile STERJOVSKI

Subs not used: 1. Justin PASFIELD (Gk), 11. Nick FITZGERALD
Goals: Trent SAINSBURY 12’, Michael MCGLINCHEY 90’
Yellow Cards: Marcel SEIP 64'

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 7. Jacob BURNS, 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES (15. Isaka CERNAK 73’), 17. Chris HAROLD, 20. Danny DE SILVA (4.Ryan EDWARDS 54’), 22. Ndumba MAKECHE (11. Adrian ZAHRA 54’), 23.Michael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES, 25. Riley WOODCOCK

Subs not used: 3.Brandon O’NEILL, 18.Jack DUNCAN (GK)
Goals: Steven McGARRY 84’
Yellow Cards: Jacob BURNS 88’, Steven McGARRY 92’
Red Cards: Jacob BURNS 93’

Which of the new Perth Glory signings will have the greatest influence during the 2014/15 Hyundai A League season?