Sunday, 22 December 2013 1:06 AM


An injury-ravaged Perth Glory has lost 4-1 to Adelaide United in their Foxtel National Youth League clash at Intiga Stadium on Saturday night.

Antony Golec opened the scoring in the 25th minute for the visitors before the match was suspended for a lengthy period when Glory youngster Aleksandar Jovic suffered a broken leg in the 29th minute.

Both teams left the field after officials decided to clear the pitch for Jovic to be taken away in an ambulance.

Jovic’s injury came after Glory suffered a blow in the warm-up when Joshua Tucker strained a quad muscle and had to be replaced in the starting side by David Stokoe, who then rolled his ankle after just 20 minutes and took no further part in the match.

Both teams were lively after returning to the pitch following Jovic’s injury, but it was Adelaide United’s Costa who made it 2-0 just six minutes after play resumed with a punishing strike from close range.

Glory was able to peg one goal back when Adelaide goalkeeper Paul Izzo missed a ball that was kicked back to him and Harry O’Brien took advantage.

Borbor Sam had two chances late in the first half to level the score, but was unable to convert his first attempt while a harsh offside call on Gian Albano spoiled the other.

Blamo Qua Qua and Scott Robertson ensured Perth remained right in the match after the main break with some impressive defending.

The home side could have drawn equal with the Reds following another rare blunder from Izzo, who fell outside the box when he grabbed a high ball in the 67th minute, gifting Glory a free kick from close range but they were unable to capitalise.

The Reds then scored two goals in two minutes through a long-range striker from Dion Kirk and goal-line header from substitute Bruce Kamau to secure the three points and jump up to equal second on the Foxtel National Youth League ladder.

Perth Glory 1 (O’Brien 42m)
Adelaide United 4 (Golec 25m, Costa 35m, Kirk 73m, Kamau 74m)
Played at Intiga Stadium

Perth Glory: 1. Luke Radonich (GK), 3. Mark Barnett, 4. David Stokoe (2. Jack Oldham 20m), 5. Sean Troup, 6. Blamo Qua Qua, 7. Borbor Sam, 8. Jacob Collard, 9. Aleksandar Jovic (15. Gian Albano 29), 10. Harry O’Brien, 11. Slobodan Vulin, 14. Mohamed Beyan (16. Scott Robertson 57m).

Unused substitute: 12. Fraser Greenwood (GK)
Yellow cards: Blamo Qua Qua 45m, Sean Troup 54m, Borbor Sam 59m

Adelaide United: 2. Dion Kirk, 3. Shaun Harvey, 6. Jack Bladen (8. Nathan Konstandopoulos 60m), 9. Anthony Costa, 10. Ryan Kitto (7. Bruce Kamau, 60m), 11. Nikola Milesunic (17. Jordan O’Doherty 60m), 13. Jordan Elsey, 16, Jacob Melling, 19. Daniel Bowles, 20. Paul Izzo (GK), 21. Antony Golec.

Unused substitute:1. John Hall (GK)
Yellow cards: Ryan Kitto 31m, Antony Golec 34m, Anthony Costa 64m

Which of the new Perth Glory signings will have the greatest influence during the 2014/15 Hyundai A League season?