Sunday, 15 December 2013 7:49 PM


Perth Glory has come up short in their Foxtel National Youth League clash against Melbourne Victory, losing 4-1 at Lakeside Stadium, South Melbourne on Sunday afternoon.

Former Perth Glory player, Jesse Makarounas, and James Jeggo had impressive games in the midfield, pulling the strings from the middle of the park to setup Victory wingers, particularly two-goal hero Andrew Nabbout, on numerous occasions.

Perth Glory looked most dangerous on the counter-attack and almost took the lead on the half-hour mark but front-man Barbor Sam was denied twice. First by a last-ditch block from Nicholas Ansell before victory goal keeper Lawrence Thomas came out strong to save at the feet of the diminutive striker.

However it was Victory who finally hit the back of the net first with Cristaldo twisting and turning in the 18-yard box to create space before smashing the ball home from five yards.


Perth started the second half brightest but soon found themselves another goal behind as Damien Miskulin was able to finish simply into the back of the net from 10 yards after Jimmy Jeggo squared a ball to him from Nabbout’s cross-field build up in the final third.

Two minutes later Melbourne put themselves three up as their ability to counter at pace was best illustrated by a quick throw from Lawrence Thomas in goal after mopping up a good chance from Perth Glory was moved up the field with two quick passes to release Nabbout one-on-one who made no mistake with his finish across the keeper.

Perth pulled a goal back when Isaka Cernak cut inside from the left wing to set up Brandon O’Neill, who finished powerfully from the edge of the box to make the score 3-1 in the 72nd minute but Victory secured the three points late in the match with Nabbout scoring his second from a close-range strike to make it 4-1.

Melbourne Victory 4 (Cristaldo 32m, Miskulin 62m, Nabbout 64m, 90+3m)
Perth Glory 1 (O’Neill 72m)
HT: 1-0

Melbourne Victory: 3. Milos Ridesic, 4. Nicholas Ansell, 5. Dylan Murnane, 6. Jordan Brown 10. John Buceto 59m), 7. Christopher Cristaldo (15. Damien Miskulin 59m), 8. Luc Jeggo (C), 9. Jesse Makarounas (12. Anthony Duzel 59m), 13. Andrew Nabbout, 16. Scott Galloway, 17. James Jeggo, 20. Lawrence Thomas (GK)

Perth Glory: 1. Jack Duncan (GK), 2. Joshua Tucker (6. Blamo Qua Qua 45m), 5. Mark Barnett, 7. Harry O’Brien, 8. Isaka Cernak, 9. Barbor Sam, 10. Adrian Zahra, 14. Sean Troup, 15. Aleksandar Jovic (11. Gian Albano 59m), 16. Jacob Collard (C) (3. Scott Robertson 59m), 17. Brandon O’Neill
Yellow Card: Joshua Tucker 20m, Harry O’Brien 76m

Which of the new Perth Glory signings will have the greatest influence during the 2014/15 Hyundai A League season?