Sunday, 12 January 2014 4:22 PM


Three goals in each half lifted Western Sydney Wanderers to a comfortable 6-0 victory over Perth Glory at Cook Park in Sydney on Sunday.

Wanderers' striker Mark Cindric was the goalscoring hero for the home side netting four times.

The Glory fielded a number of players with Hyundai A-League experience in the spine of the team; defender Josh Risdon, midfielders Brandon O’Neill, Cameron Edwards and Daniel De Silva, plus striker Ndumba Makeche.

However, the Wanderers soon gained the ascendency with a superb opening goal on 16 minutes from Jaushua Sotirio.

Cindric scored his first of the match by winning a penalty and comfortably converting the resultant spot-kick to double the advantage just past the half-hour mark, before outpacing the defence and converting smartly for the third goal of the match.

Half time: Western Sydney Wanderers 3 – 0 Perth Glory FC

Though claiming a reasonable share of possession the Glory were unable to test the Wanderers goal in the second half as Sydney’s warm conditions took its toll.

Midfielder Yianni Perkatis scored the Wanderers’ fourth goal midway through the second period, tapping in an easy finish after a stunning run from tall forward Joshua Barresi that ended with his shot unluckily ricocheting off the post.

Cindric scored the goal of the match with a sharp turn and clinical finish, before extending the winning margin in the dying minutes.

Western Sydney Wanderers 6 (Jaushua Sotirio 16', Mark Cindric 33' pen, 39', 80' 86', Yianni Perkatis 62')
Perth Glory FC 0

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1.Thomas Manos (gk) (20. Blake Tuxford (46'), 2. Shanye D 'Cuna, 4. James Baldacchino, 5. Sean Symons (15. Michael Trajkovski 60'), 6. Yianni Perkatis, 7. Jaushua Sotirio, 8. Jake McGing, 9. Mark Cindric, 10. Joshua Barresi, 11. Nicholas Olsen (14. Shannon Cole 46'), 16. Lawrence Hanna (3. Brendan Hooper 61')
Cautions: Baldacchino 44', Perkatis 78', Barresi 93'

Perth Glory: 1. Fraser Greenwood (gk), 2. Josh Risdon (13. Joshua Tucker 33'), 3. Alexander Castiello (15. Mark Barnett 55'), 4. Jacob Collard, 5. Jack Oldham, 6. Cameron Edwards, 7. Harry O'Brien, 8. Brandon O'Neill, 10. Daniel De Silva, 11. Barbor Sam (14. Joseph Knowles 55'), Ndumba Makeche
Cautions: Castiello 33'

Which of the new Perth Glory signings will have the greatest influence during the 2014/15 Hyundai A League season?