About us

Sydney FC was established in 2004 as the inaugural Hyundai A-League club to represent the ‘Football Capital’ of Australia, as Sydney boasts the greatest number of football participants compared to any other city in the country.

The Sky Blues are one of the most successful clubs in the brief history of the Hyundai A-League, participating in five of the eight A-League finals series, being crowned Champions twice and Premiers on one occasion.

Sydney FC’s first taste of success came before the start of the Hyundai A-League when it won the 2005 Australian Championship and went on to be crowned Champions of Oceania, gaining a place in the 2005 Club World Championships in Japan where it finished 5th.

The success continued in 2005/06 with a Grand Final victory over the Central Coast Mariners making them the inaugural Hyundai A-League Champions.

A domestic double in season 2009/10 reinforced the Sky Blues standing at the top of football in Australia; lifting the Premiers Plate in front of the biggest home crowd of the season with a memorable 2-0 victory over arch rivals Melbourne Victory before going on to be crowned Hyundai A-League Champions, again beating Melbourne Victory, this time in Melbourne.

As well as booking a highly prized berth in the 2011 AFC Champions League, the club capped off an amazing season when the Sydney FC women’s side won the Westfield W-League Championship.

Only a year earlier, the Sky Blues National Youth League side won the inaugural youth league title. As a result, Sydney FC is now the only club to have won all three domestic titles.

On top of tasting domestic success, Sydney FC has started to take its brand throughout Asia and the Pacific. As well as the success in Oceania and at the Club World Championships in 2005, Sydney FC has now competed in two AFC Champions League competitions after Australia moved from the Oceania confederation to Asia.

In 2007, Sydney FC was defeated in the final group match by eventual winners Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan) before they finished 3rd in a group featuring Shanghai Shenhua (China), Suwon Bluewings (Korea) and Kashima Antlers (Japan) at the 2011 AFC Champions League.

In November 2007, a crowd of 80,295 witnessed Sydney FC defeat David Beckham’s LA Galaxy 5-3 at ANZ Stadium. The fixture set the record for the highest attendance at a match featuring an Australian club side.

In its short but rich history, Sydney FC signalled its intentions from day one of the Hyundai A-League by announcing the signing of former Manchester United superstar Dwight Yorke to compliment Socceroos Steve Corica and Clint Bolton and young guns David Carney and Mark Milligan for the 2005/06 season.

Since then, many of the world’s greatest players have donned the Sky Blue shirt, including Brazilian midfielder Juninho, Japanese legend Kazuyoshi Miura, Italian striker Benito Carbone, Socceroo legend Brett Emerton as well as many of Australia’s best ever products such as Steve Corica, Tony Popovic, Alex Brosque, John Aloisi, Michael Beauchamp and Simon Colosimo.

This culminated on Wednesday 5th September 2012 when Sydney FC made the biggest signing in Australian football history by agreeing a two year playing contract with the hero of Italian football Alessandro Del Piero.

The World Cup and UEFA Champions League winner arrived in Sydney amid huge fan and media interest on Sunday 16th of September 2012 to begin his Sky Blue career.