Canberra United have defeated Brisbane Roar 3-2 to claim the W-League title and complete a historic undefeated season at a sold out McKellar Park in Canberra.

Star striker Michelle Heyman was the hero for United, scoring a brace and providing the assist for Canberra's other goal.

Heyman opened the scoring in the eleventh minute, slotting a well-placed finish past a desperate Casey Dumont, before then turning provider for Ashleigh Sykes.

Heyman turned the Roar defence inside out in the 18th minute to cross for Sykes who slid the ball into an open net.

Brisbane though showed their customary fight to comeback and it was that woman, super-sub Emily Gielnik who struck with her first touch in the 23rd minute to make it 2-1 at the break.

Canberra came out firing in the second half and it wasn't long before Heyman had her second, netting a downward header past Dumont.

Brisbane made things interesting though, and when Tameka Butt was brought down in the box and awarded a penalty which she duly put away, Canberra fans and players were made to hold their breath.

United had a nervous wait as Brisbane surged, but it wasn't enough for the Roar as Canberra held on for a 3-2 win with Lydia WIlliams producing a super save late to deny Gielnik one-on-one.

Canberra United: 3 (Heyman 11, 55, Sykes 18)
Brisbane Roar: 2 (Gielnik 23, Butt, 66)