Who We Are

Football Australia is the governing body of football in Australia and is a member of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the international governing body for football. Information regarding FIFA is available at FIFA.com.

FIFA is made up of the Football Australia and 210 other national associations, and also recognises six confederations loosely grouped along continental lines. Each national association is also a member of a confederation. Football Australia has been a member of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) since joining the body on January 1, 2006. For information regarding AFC please visit AFC.com.

Football Australia was established in 2004 and is a member-based organisation loosely based on Australia’s federated system of government. Football Australia's membership is comprised of:

  • Capital Football
  • Football Northern Territory
  • Football South Australia
  • Football Tasmania
  • Football Victoria
  • Football New South Wales
  • Football Queensland
  • Football West
  • Northern New South Wales Football

Each of these governing bodies has a commitment to comply with the Football Australia constitution, applicable statutes, by-laws and regulations, and are responsible for the game within their respective geographic region.

In 2005, Football Australia established Australia's first ever fully professional national football league - the A-League. Today, the A-League consists of the following football clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Central Coast Mariners
  • Macarthur FC
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Wellington Phoenix (New Zealand)
  • Western United
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

Just three years after the commencement of the A-League in 2005, Football Australia introduced the Westfield W-League. Today there are eight teams who are affiliated with A-League clubs and one standalone club from Canberra. Today, the Westfield W-League includes the following clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Canberra United
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

In 2019, following a substantial period of research and discussion, it was agreed that Australia’s professional Leagues would be divested from Football Australia's governance and management.

On December 31 2020, the new Leagues entity was finalised, with the unbundling completed between Football Australia & the Australian Professional Leagues (APL). However, the symmetries and synergies that exist between the professional game and Football Australia’s focus on community football, pathways, the FFA Cup, and various men’s and women’s National Teams, means that there remains close collaboration between the two organisations moving forward.

Football Australia's long-term vision is for Football to be the largest and most popular sport in Australia.

Football Australia Board

Chair: Chris Nikou
Mark Bresciano
Joseph Carrozzi
Amy Duggan
Robyn FitzRoy
Stefan Kamasz
Heather Reid AM
Carla Wilshire

Executive Leadership Team


Executive Leader

Focus Areas

James Johnson

Chief Executive Officer

Jane Fernandez

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Mark Falvo

Chief Operating Officer

Peter Filopoulos

Marketing, Communications, Corporate Affairs (incorporating Digital)

Robbie Middleby

Member Federation Relations and Community

Sarah Walsh

Women’s Football, Women’s World Cup Legacy, and Inclusion

Tim Holden

Legal, Regulatory and Integrity

Tom Rischbieth

Commercial and Events

Trevor Morgan

Technical Direction, Pathways & Coach Education

To be appointed

National Teams

To be appointed

Professional Football