FFA congratulates Sydney FC for claiming historic Fourth Premiership

Sydney FC have claimed a record-breaking fourth Hyundai A-League Premiership following the result of tonight’s match between Wellington Phoenix and Adelaide United.

The 1-all draw at Bankwest Stadium meant that Sydney FC cannot be caught in the race for the Premiership, and Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chairman Chris Nikou congratulated them on a historic achievement.

“Our congratulations go out to Sydney FC for claiming their fourth Hyundai A-League Premier’s Plate,” Nikou said.

“Having won the inaugural Hyundai A-League Championship in 2006 and the Premier’s title for the first time in 2009/10, Sydney FC have been one of the most successful clubs in the history of this competition. 

“We congratulate Sydney FC Head Coach Steve Corica, captain Alex Wilkinson, the players and the coaching staff for their Premiership winning performances throughout the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season.

“We also congratulate Sydney FC’s owners David Traktovenko and Scott Barlow, along with their Chief Executive Officer Danny Townsend and his staff for their efforts off the field to make this achievement a reality.

“The race for the other places in the top six is now heating up and there is still plenty to play for in the remaining regular season matches,” concluded Nikou.

The Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series begins in four weeks’ time on Saturday, 22 August 2020.