Hayley Raso and Sam Kerr receive Ballon d'Or nominations

Matildas Sam Kerr and Hayley Raso have been nominated for the Ballon d’Or, the first time two Australians have made the star-studded shortlist for the prestigious individual award. 

Sam Kerr makes the short-list for the fourth time, she has been nominated every year since the award was first introduced in 2019. The striker has finished in the top 10 in each year, and had podium finishes in 2021 and 2022 where she finished in third place, with Spain's Alexia Putellas winning the award on both occasions.  

Hayley Raso received her first nomination for the award, a breakout campaign at the FIFA Women's World Cup, where she helped Australia to their best-ever finish at the competition with three goals and an assist. 

The winger made the move in the off-season to Real Madrid, after spending two seasons in Manchester City where she claimed the Conti Cup title. 

The winners will be announced in Paris at the annual award ceremony at the Théâtre du Châtelet on October 20.

2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or nominees

Player NominatedClub/Country
Aitana BonmatíBarcelona/Spain
Millie BrightChelsea/England
Linda CaicedoReal Madrid/Colombia
Olga CarmonaReal Madrid/Spain
Rachel DalyAston Villa/England
DebinhaKansas City Current/Brazil
Kadidiatou DianiLyon/France
Mary EarpsManchester United/England
Patri GuijarroBarcelona/Spain
Yui HasegawaManchester City/Japan
Amanda IlestedtArsenal/Sweden
Sam KerrChelsea/Australia
Mapi LéonBarcelona/Spain
Katie McCabeArsenal/Ireland
Hinata MiyazawaManchester United/Japan
Lena OberdorfVfL Wolfsburg/Germany
Asisat OshoalaBarcelona/Nigeria
Ewa PajorVfL Wolfsburg/Poland
Salma ParallueloBarcelona/Spain
Alexandra PoppVfL Wolfsburg/Germany
Hayley RasoReal Madrid/Australia
Alba RedondoLevante/Spain
Guro ReitenChelsea/Norway
Wendie RenardLyon/France
Fridolina RolföBarcelona/Sweden
Jill RoordManchester City/Netherlands
Khadija ShawManchester City/Jamaica
Sophia SmithPortland Thorns/USA
Georgia StanwayBayern Munich/England
Daphne van DomselaarAston Villa/Netherlands