Member Federation Spotlight: Capital Football Community Nominees for rebel Female Football Awards

The rebel Female Football awards will be held on Friday, recognising the incredible contribution by both women and men in football at all levels of the game in Australia.

As well as highlighting work done by women at both Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League clubs, it also shines a light on the unique stories and volunteers at Member Federation and grassroots level.

The awards are held in categories including Female Player of the Year, Female Coach of the Year, Female Administrator of the Year, Female Referee of the Year and Male Champion of the Year.

And today we’re looking at the nominees from Capital Football.

rebel female football round

Female Player of the Year - Emma IIijoski

Emma has had an incredible career representing Capital Football and now becoming the Captain of the Junior Matildas in their World Championship Qualifiers in Kyrgyzstan. Her form throughout the year has seen her selected in Capital Football’s Squad to participate in the National training Centre Challenge at the Australian Institute of Sport. Not only has Emma been impressive throughout the entire campaign she has showed exceptional leadership qualities, going on to be named captain of the squad. Ilijoski earned selection following a successful Pacific Step-Up tour earlier this month, which saw the Westfield Junior Matildas play against the U-19 National Women’s teams from Tonga, Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands.

Female Coach of the Year - Kelly Stirton

Kelly is the Game Development Manager at Capital Football and was the first head coach to take a team away to the Cerebral Palsy Nationals in October 2019 where the team finished fifth. She has also helped develop the first All Abilities Academy not in only in Canberra but for Australia. Kelly is also the head coach for the Canberra United Powerchair team as well as running the All Ability league during the winter season.

rebel female football round

Female Administrator of the Year - Kath Temple

Kath has been involved with the Weston Molonglo Football Club for over 20 years now. Through this time she has helped the club grow into a club with one of the best reputations in the ACT. Throughout her time she has been Club President, coached a number of boys youth teams and has now stepped into the Senior Chair role.

Female Referee of the Year - Aisha Strutt 

Aisha was part of the Capital Football Referee Academy. Through her commitment and performances during 2019 she was awarded the Capital Football Academy Referee of the Year. In addition Aisha was appointed as referee to the NPL Women’s Reserves Grand Final.

Male Champion of the Year - Antoni Jagarinec

Antoni has been part of the Belconnen United Football Club as first grade NPLW head coach for 10 years with nine consecutive premierships as well as winning six of the past eight grand finals. In his time as a coach Antoni has been part of many Female Football discussions in clubs and played a major part in pushing the girls within his club to get equal pay to the boys.