Women's Final Summary: IFCPF Asia Oceania Championships

The CommBank ParaMatildas defeated Japan 2-0 in the final of the IFCPF Asia Oceania Championships to become the champions of Asia and Oceania.

Read a summary of the day's play below.

Undefeated is Forever

Women: CommBank ParaMatildas 2 - 0 Japan

Goalscorers: Nicole Christodoulou (21'), Georgia Beikoff (27')

The CommBank ParaMatildas were too strong in the end for Japan, who put in a fantastic performance against the home side.

Japan had the better of the opportunities in the first 10 minutes or so of the game, with Australian goalkeeper Katelyn Smith forced into making several fantastic saves. However, it was Nicole Christodoulou who opened the scoring, the Player of the Tournament capitalising on a rebound to give her side the lead.

Golden Boot winner Georgia Beikoff scored early in the second half to double Australia's lead. Japan continued to come forward in hopes of a goal of their own but Australia were stout in defence - led by Tahlia Blanshard, who was awarded Player of the Match.

Australia: 2. Nicole Christodoulou (Carly Salmon 41’), 3. Tahlia Blanshard (Karina Grigorian 50+1’), 6. Katelyn Smith (c), 8. Annmarie De Uriarte (Eloise Northam 41’), 10. Georgia Beikoff

Substitutes not used: 4. Karina Grigorian, 5. Tamsin Colley, 9. Rae Anderson

Japan: 2. Mai Ohta (c), 3. Miyabi Hamada, 4. Saki Kuroki, 5. Mayuko Kaiga, 6. Ayumi Takemura

Substitutes not used: 1. Masami Ryochi, 7. Rie Ishihara

Individual Awards

Golden Glove: Katelyn Smith (AUS)
Golden Boot: Georgia Beikoff, 5 goals (AUS)
Player of the Tournament: Nicole Christodoulou (AUS)