Johnny Warren Medal

The Johnny Warren Medal is awarded to the best player each season of the domestic top-tier Men's competition. 

The Medal was first awarded in 1990 for the National Soccer League season, and continues to this day in the A-League Men competition. 

Johnny Warren, MBE, OAM was a legendary Socceroo and Australian Football figure, making 42 appearances in the Green & Gold across a prominent career. 

National Soccer League Winners

Year Player Club
1989–90 Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Željko Adžić Melbourne Croatia
1990–91 Australia Milan Ivanovic Adelaide City
1991–92 Australia Josip Biskic Melbourne CSC
1992–93 Australia Paul Trimboli South Melbourne
1993–94 Australia Mark Viduka Melbourne Knights
1994–95 Australia Mark Viduka Melbourne Knights
1995–96 Australia Damian Mori Adelaide City
1996–97 Australia Kresimir Marusic Sydney United
1997–98 Australia Paul Trimboli South Melbourne
1998–99 Australia Brad Maloney Marconi-Fairfield
1999–2000 Australia Scott Chipperfield Wollongong Wolves
2000–01 Australia Scott Chipperfield Wollongong Wolves
2001–02 Brazil Fernando Rech Brisbane Strikers
2002–03 Australia Damian Mori Perth Glory
2003–04 Australia Ante Milicic Parramatta Power

A-League Men Winners

Year Player Club
2005–06 Australia Bobby Despotovski Perth Glory
2006–07 Australia Nick Carle Newcastle Jets
2007–08 Australia Joel Griffiths Newcastle Jets
2008–09 New Zealand Shane Smeltz Wellington Phoenix
2009–10 Costa Rica Carlos Hernández Melbourne Victory
2010–11 Argentina Marcos Flores Adelaide United
2011–12 Germany Thomas Broich Brisbane Roar
2012–13 New Zealand Marco Rojas Melbourne Victory
2013–14 Germany Thomas Broich Brisbane Roar
2014–15 Australia Nathan Burns Wellington Phoenix
2015–16 Spain Diego Castro Perth Glory
2016–17 Serbia Miloš Ninković Sydney FC
2017–18 Poland Adrian Mierzejewski Sydney FC
2018–19 Fiji Roy Krishna Wellington Phoenix
2019–20 Italy Alessandro Diamanti Western United

Serbia Miloš Ninković

Mexico Ulises Dávila

Sydney FC

Wellington Phoenix