Alessandro Diamanti claims the Johnny Warren Medal

Alessandro Diamanti from Western United FC has capped off an outstanding first season in the Hyundai A-League by claiming the Johnny Warren Medal which was announced this evening from the Telstra Customer Insight Centre.

Diamanti received 34 points from a panel that included former professional players, technical experts, match officials and media representatives. He was followed by Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC – 28 points) and Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City FC – 25 points) with Diego Castro (Perth Glory – 23 points) and Ulises Davila (Wellington Phoenix – 23 points) in equal fourth place.

Riley McGree  (Adelaide United - October), was named the Hyundai A-League Young Footballer of the Year ahead of Angus Thurgate (Newcastle Jets - November), Reno Piscopo (Wellington Phoenix - December), Cameron Devlin (Wellington Phoenix - January) Nick D'Agostino (Perth Glory - February), Matthew Millar (Newcastle Jets - March) and Tom Glover (Melbourne City FC - July/August).

Jake Hollman from Sydney FC was the Foxtel Y-League Player of the Year.

Melbourne City FC’s Head Coach, Erick Mombaerts, received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award.

Melbourne City FC’s Jamie Maclaren was the Nike Golden Boot Award winner after scoring 22 goalswhile Marco Tilio from Sydney FC was the top goal scorer for the Foxtel Y-League 2019/20 season with 9 goals.

Nikolai Topor-Stanley from the Newcastle Jets scored the Hyundai A-League Goal of the Year Award for his long-range strike in Round 21 against Perth Glory in the 12th minute.

Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC) collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Sydney FC also won the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award after accruing the least number of yellow and red card points whilst Canberra United were the winners of the Foxtel Y-League Fair Play Award.

Chris Beath was awarded the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year. 



Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year):     Alessandro Diamanti (Western United FC)

Hyundai A-League Young Footballer of the Year:         Riley McGree (Adelaide United)

Coach of the Year:                                           Erick Mombaerts (Melbourne City FC)

Nike Golden Boot Award:                                Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City FC) – 22 goals   

Goal of the Year:                                                        Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Newcastle Jets, Round 21 v Perth Glory)

Goalkeeper of the Year:                                             Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC)

Fair Play Award:                                                            Sydney FC

Referee of the Year:                                                       Chris Beath