Football NSW Sky crowned 2022 National Para Football Championships winners

The final day of the National Para Football Championships kicked off on Tuesday on the Gold Coast, after four days of competition Football NSW Sky has been crowned 2022 National Para Football Championships winners.

Read the full wrap of the final day of action! The whole day of the competition was streamed live and free on our MyFootball YouTube Channel, watch the replays now

Plate Final: Queensland vs. South Australia

Queensland took on South Australia in the first match of the day with the winner being awarded the Plate Final.

Both teams started strong, but it was South Australia who showed their determination with both Riley Stubing and Luc Launder making an impact, each netting a brace for their side. 

Zade Nethercott added to the team’s tally for a 5-0 finish over the Sunshine State.

3rd Place Play-Off: NSW Navy vs. Western Australia

The Western Australian side finished 6-1 against NSW Navy to come away with the Bronze Medal.

Chris Minutillo was brilliant with his second hat-trick of the tournament while 15-year-old Raff Bacon found the back of the net twice for his first goals.

Noah Bremmer-Bell also joined the scorers with an early second-half goal for the West Australians. 

NSW Navy maintained their determination throughout the match with young players like Matty Engesser, who scored late for his side, proving how important this tournament is for developing the next generation. 

Legendary CommBank Pararoo Chris Barty was once again solid in goals, making one of his trademarked flyings saves in the dying minutes of the game.  

‘Barty’ also announced after the match that he would be retiring from football. He made his debut for Australia in 2012 against Iran, and played 37 matches, including at the most recent World Cup in Spain. Barty was not only a sensational goalkeeper but also a leader within the team.

Championship Final: Victoria vs. NSW Sky

In the Championship Final, reigning winners NSW Sky took on Victoria for a chance to be crowed champions. A fantastic ball from Ben Atkins opened up the defence up for Connor Marsh to lay it off to Jeremy Boyce who opened the scoring NSW Sky 1-0.

Some goalkeeping heroics from Victoria's keeper Christian Tsangas denied Boyce's chance at doubling his tally for the day. Before a goal to Victoria saw them equalise, Joshua Beekes the goalscorer.

Beekes doubled his tally for the afternoon to give Victoria the lead, but once again NSW Sky would find a response, equalising with a long-rang effort from Ben Atkins to send the game into the break 2-2.

Augustine Murphy had the chance to give NSW the lead once again after being brough down in the box by Christodoulou. Murphy stepped up and made no mistake from the spot. 

Victoria would once against find the answer, with substitute Oran Jones making an immediate impact to see the game go level again.

Daniel Campbell scored his first of the day with another long-range effort to make it 4-3 to NSW. Campbell, the CommBank Pararoo of the Year, would double his tally for the day soon after, getting on the end of a fantastic ball from Tim Blowes to make it 5-3.

Tim Blowes and Jack Williams finished off the scoring in the final to end the game 7-3, with Football NSW Sky claiming the title.

2022 National Para Football Championships Winners (Photos: Ann Odong/Football Australia)