Inaugural FFA Cup Final Rounds Playoffs to be held in early August

The first ever FFA Cup Final Rounds Playoffs are locked in, with Western United FC to challenge Newcastle Jets, and Perth Glory to take on Melbourne Victory for a place in the Round of 32.

Initially these Playoff fixtures were due to be played between June 11-14 2021, but as a result of the COVID-19 restrictions surrounding the Melbourne lockdown, the games will now be played before the commencement of the Round of 32, between the 7th and 8th of August.

The Playoffs between the bottom four A-League clubs is a new feature of a revamped FFA Cup competition in 2021, which resumes after being cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020.

Slot allocations (10) for the A-League have not changed, but with the competition expanding to 12 clubs for 2020/21, it means the top eight clubs at the end of the regular season secure direct entry into the Round of 32, with 9th v 12th and 10th v 11th playing off for the final two spots.

There are also changes to the format of the Final Rounds, with a zoned approach for the Round of 32, and then a completely open draw from the Round of 16 onwards.

FFA Cup Playoffs

The 9th v 12th Playoff – Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory – will take place in Perth on either August 7 or August 8, and the 10th v 11th Playoff – Western United FC v Newcastle Jets – will take place across either of the same proposed matchdays at a venue in Melbourne.

Ticketing information will be available in due course via, and broadcasting information around the Playoff matches and the FFA Cup 2021 Final Rounds will be communicated at a later date.

In the coming weeks, Football Australia will also release the official date for the FFA Cup Round of 32 Live Draw and matchdays for the Final Rounds. 

FFA Cup Final Rounds Playoffs 2021 Fixtures:


Home Team


Away Team


Kick-off (local)

Kick-off (AEST)

August 7 or 8

Western United FC


Newcastle Jets




August 7 or 8

Perth Glory


Melbourne Victory





FFA Cup 2021
Twitter: @FFACup
YouTube: My Football

FFA Cup 2021 Round of 32 qualified clubs so far:

FFA Cup Round of 32 clubs